CFD Computational Fluid Dynamics
Ninth International Conference on
Computational Fluid Dynamics
in the Minerals and Process Industries

10-12 December 2012, MCEC, Melbourne, Australia

summary CFD 2012

In December 2012 over 175 delegates from 19 countries attended the Ninth International Conference on CFD in the Minerals and Process Industries held at Melbourne Conference and Exhibition Centre. CSIRO organised the conference, which was jointly sponsored by DELL, AMD and CSIRO’s CSS-TCP. Dr Phil Schwarz opened the conference reminding delegates that it was 50 years since the “birth of CFD” lead by the work of Frank Harlow. Dr Schwarz went on to note that there were still many challenges in the field when applying CFD to industrial problems.

At the conference 128 papers on topics as diverse as industrial applications such as the HIsmelt iron ore process, chemical looping in a fluidised bed and subsea bubble plumes to fundamental studies of droplet-droplet collisions and flocculation of solid-liquid suspensions.

Opening of the Ninth International Conference on CFD in the Minerals and Process Industries.

Plenary talks were presented by six leading keynote speakers:
    • Prof. Martin Sommerfeld, University Halle-Wittenberg, Germany
    • Prof. Rajat Mittal, Johns Hopkins University, USA
    • Mark Davis, Rio Tinto, HIsmelt, Australia
    • Scott Thibault, CPFD Software, USA
    • Djamel Lakehal, CEO of ASCOMP, Switzerland
    • Markus Braun, ANSYS, Germany

who presented reviews of topics such as parallelisation for multiphase flows, predictions of industrial fluidised bed systems and models of blood flow in a heart and its use for diagnosis. Mini-symposiums were held in the areas of bio-engineering and gas-particle flows.    

The presentations had a very good mix of CFD topics, ranging from applied industrial applications to fundamental fluid dynamics. Presenters came from industry, academia and various research labs around the world.

The conference closed with Dr Marcus Zipper, Deputy Chief of CSIRO PSE, who presented and sponsored the following student prizes to:
    • Tony Vo from Monash University, was awarded the ‘best student paper’
    • Lianghui Tan from Eindhoven University of Technology in the Netherlands, received the award for ‘best student presentation’
    • Allan Love from University of Nottingham and Lachlan Mason from University of Melbourne
       were runners up for the ‘best student paper’

Tony Vo
Tony Vo wins 'best student paper'

Lianghui Tan
Dr Marcus Zipper presents Lianghui Tan with her award for ‘best student presentation’

Overall the conference was a big success with a high level of scientific exchange and a wide range of attendees including students, academics and industry practitioners.

Various photographs taken at the conference can be viewed here.

Major Sponsors