Multi-Scale Modelling 2009
Multi-Scale Modelling for
Industrial Flow Systems

7-8 December 2009, Ian Wark Conference Centre, CSIRO, Melbourne, Australia

Keynote Speakers

The Symposium's opening address will be given by Dr. Jim Peacock. Dr. Peacock (AC, FAA, FRS, FTSE, FAIAST) is a Fellow in CSIRO and was the Australia's Chief Scientist from March 2006-August 2008. Dr Peacock is an outstanding scientist with a record of academic excellence and is highly respected by the science, engineering and technology community. Dr Peacock is an award winning molecular biologist and fervent science advocate. He is recognised internationally as an eminent researcher in the field of plant molecular biology and its applications in agriculture. In 1994, he was made a Companion of the Order of Australia for outstanding service to science, particularly in the field of molecular biology and to science education. Dr Peacock is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, Fellow of The Royal Society of London, the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, a Foreign Associate of the US National Academy of Sciences and a Foreign Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy.

A number of leading experts from around the world will present keynote papers on Multiscale Modelling issues.

Prof. Rodney Fox
 is the Herbert Stiles Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering at Iowa State University. He graduated with a PhD in Chemical Engineering from Kansas State University. Rodney's research focuses on the development, implementation and validation of computational fluid dynamics (CFD) tools for Chemical Reaction Engineering.

Prof. Jinghai Li is the vice president of Chinese academy of sciences and has been engaged in quantitative design and scale-up studies of particle-fluid systems. He proposed a multi-scale approach based on micro-scale of individual particles, micro-scale of particle aggregates and macro-scale of apparatuses, and formulated the variational criterion for the heterogeneous flow structure of particle-fluid systems, leading to the establishment of the Energy-Minimization Multi-Scale (EMMS) model. The model has been extended to calculating radial profiles in particle-fluid systems and defining the critical condition for choking from one steady state to another. He further proposed that compromise between dominant sub-mechanisms in complex flow systems leads to the formation of heterogeneous structures, and formulated the variation criterion by analyzing compromise between the sub-mechanisms. In addition, he has made progress in computer-aided experiments in particle-fluid systems, as well as in clean-coal technology.

Prof. Aibing Yu is a world-leading scientist in particle/powder technology and process engineering. He has made many significant contributions and is recognised as an authority in the areas of particle packing, particulate and multiphase processing, and simulation and modelling. He has attracted >$15M external research funds to UNSW in the past decade through the ARC and other competitive schemes, and successfully established a world-class research team ‘SIMPAS’, which responds to Australian needs in the mineral/metallurgical/chemical/material industries. He has edited 3 books/conference proceedings, published over 450 papers in various international journals and conference proceedings, and delivered numerous invited plenary/keynote presentations at various international conferences. He is winner of various prestigious awards/fellowships including Josef Kapitan Iron making Award from the Iron and Steel Society (USA), Outstanding Overseas Chinese Scholar (China), CSIRO Postdoctoral Fellowship, ARC Queen Elizabeth II Fellowship, Australian Professorial Fellowship and Federation Fellowship. He is an elected Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE), and on the editorial board of >10 learned journals including I &EC Research, Powder Technology and Granular Matter.

Prof. Jos Derksen graduated with a PhD in Applied Physics from Eindhoven University of Technology. He worked as a Research Engineer at National Aerospace Laboratory NLR, Netherlands and then joined the Delft University of Technology as an assistant professor in the Multi-scale Physics department. Currently he is the Professor in the Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering at the University of Alberta. His research interests include (i) Turbulent flows in process equipment (ii) Solid-liquid suspensions (iii) Lattice-Boltzmann methods for fluid flow simulations and (iv) Multiphase LBM for liquid-liquid systems. He is also the adjunct professor, in the Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, Clarkson University, USA.

Prof. Anne Robertson is the Associate Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Pittsburgh. She is active in research and teaching in continuum mechanics with particular emphasis on (i) Newtonian and non-Newtonian fluid dynamics (ii) constitutive modeling of soft biological tissues and (iii) cerebral vascular disease.

Dr. Madhava Syamlal is the Focus Area Leader for Computational and Basic Sciences at NETL (National Energy Technology Laboratories), Morgantown. Dr. Syamlal joined the U.S. Department of Energy in 2004 following several key research positions at Fluent Inc., and has devoted more than 20 years of his career to pursuing solutions associated with gas-particle flows. His research led to the development of numerical solutions in use today to simulate fluid-particle flows. His body of work resulted in the development of an open-source code, called MFIX (Multiphase Flow with Interphase Exchanges), used as a standard worldwide by scientists conducting particle-flow research.

Dr. Phil Schwarz works on the development and application of computational fluid dynamics (CFD) models of equipment and processes in the minerals extraction and energy industries. Dr Schwarz is Research Program Leader - Fluids Process Modelling, for CSIRO Minerals. He leads a team of engineers and scientists who carry out computational and experimental modelling with the aim of improving the performance of processing equipment in the minerals and energy plant.

Dr. Paul Cleary heads a team of world-leading mathematicians and engineers highly regarded for innovative computational fluid dynamics algorithms. Dr Paul Cleary leads a team of mathematicians and engineers doing research in computational fluid dynamics (CFD). His research team are regarded as world-leaders in discrete element modelling (DEM) and smooth particle hydrodynamics (SPH)- branches of maths that are used to simulate and predict the movement of fluids.

Address for Correspondence
and Paper Submission

Dr Phil Schwarz
CSIRO Minerals
Box 312
Clayton South Vic 3169

Telephone: +61 3 9545 8500
Facsimile: +61 3 9562 8919